Kurt Bensmiller Takes the Win at the Strathmore Stampede

Photo Credit to Shellie Scott

It was an outstanding weekend as the Strathmore Stampede wrapped up on a hot and sunny Monday afternoon on a good racetrack. Capacity crowds and great chuckwagon racing was the order for the entire event, and Kurt Bensmiller, driving the Versatile Energy Services Outfit, and along with outriders Rory Gervais and Hayden Motowylo, who captured the 2022 Strathmore Stampede Championship. It’s the first win on the season for Kurt Bensmiller, and the fourth time Bensmiller has won the Strathmore Stampede whose previous victories came in 2012, 2018 and 2019.

Bensmiller was crowned the Strathmore Stampede Champion after posting the best 4-day aggregate time of 5:04.41. That gave him a large 3.01 second margin of victory over current world points leader and 2022 Richard Cosgrave Memorial winner Layne MacGillivray. Chanse Vigen grabbed third, Vern Nolin was fourth and Codey McCurrach rounded out the top five overall for the four-day show.

On the day, from barrel number 4 in the 4th heat, Codey McCurrach posted the fast time of the afternoon with a 1:15.39 and won the day money by 52 one-hundreds of a second over Wade Salmond. Chanse Vigen placed third, Vern Nolin was fourth, with Layne MacGillivray making out the top five fastest wagons on the day.

The WPCA Pro Tour will now have a one week break and will resume at the Battle of the North in Dawson Creek, British Columbia. Racing starts on Wednesday August 10, 2022, and runs through to Sunday, August 14, 2022. Catch all the live action on WPCA Radio at 9:00pm Eastern, 8:00pm Central, and 7:00pm Mountain time on Real Country 910.

Billy Melville

2022 Strathmore Stampede Champions
Versatile Energy Services Ltd.
Kurt Bensmiller – Driver
Rory Gervais, Hayden Motowylo – Outriders
Day 4 Results 
RankDriverSponsorTotal Time
1Codey McCurrachTomco Group of Companies1:15.39
2Wade SalmondBurnra Welding Ltd.1:15.91
3Chanse VigenBlackstone Drilling Fluids Ltd.1:16.81
4Vern NolinMcCaw’s Drilling & Blasting Ltd.1:16.82
5Layne MacGillivrayLeague Projects1:16.90
6Mitch SutherlandQuick Mats Ltd.1:17.06
7Jason GlassBirchcliff Energy Ltd.1:17.10
8Kurt BensmillerVersatile Energy Services Ltd.1:17.14
9Jordie FikeBro-Tech Plumbing & Heating Inc.1:17.24
10Troy DorchesterTeam Rig & Supply1:17.35
11Mark SutherlandReinhart Oilfield Services Ltd.1:17.82
12Layne FladZegil Automotive & Transmission/Pure Country Meats1:17.83
13/14Ross KnightPremium Ag1:17.90
13/14Troy FladMr. Fireplace1:17.90
15Chance FladAspen Crossing1:17.92
16Obrey MotowyloCo-operators Insurance Group Ltd.1:18.02
17Chance ThomsonEdmonton Custom Packers1:18.08
18Dayton SutherlandBrandell Diesel Inc.1:18.10
19Dustin GorstCentury Downs Racetrack & Casino 1:18.25
20Kirk SutherlandRob Knight Truck Lines Ltd.1:18.36
21Chance BensmillerCORE Ag Inputs1:18.73
22Darcy FladMartin Sheilds MP – Bow River1:18.84
23Rae Croteau Jr.Cinch Oilfield Hauling Ltd.1:18.86
24/25Josh HrynykBarbeejay Supplies Ltd.1:19.21
24/25Dean DregerCor-Ex Energy Services Inc.1:19.21
26Chad FikeTim’s Glass1:19.30
27Derek AeblyJag Flocomponents LLP1:19.71
28Kris MolleChariot Express1:20.26
29Todd McCrackenLogistic Solutions Energy1:20.38
30Doug IrvineAll Brite Signs/Sign Solutions1:21.65
31Cruise BensmillerAIC Construction Ltd.1:22.23
32Gage FladBow Slope Shipping Association1:23.59
33Kelly MorinTamara Desjardains – CIR Realty Strathmore1:24.77
34Roy RomanowCoulee Equine Conditioning & Rehabilitation1:27.25
35Tuff DregerTown of Strathmore1:28.01
36Evan SalmondWest Land Livestock Inc.1:36.79
4 Day Aggregate Standings
RankDriverSponsor4 Day Total
1Kurt BensmillerVersatile Energy Services Ltd.5:04.41
2Layne MacGillivrayLeague Projects5:07.42
3Chanse VigenBlackstone Drilling Fluids Ltd.5:08.17
4Vern NolinMcCaw’s Drilling & Blasting Ltd.5:08.70
5Codey McCurrachTomco Group of Companies5:08.71
6Kirk SutherlandRob Knight Truck Lines Ltd.5:09.64
7Jason GlassBirchcliff Energy Ltd.5:10.15
8Kris MolleChariot Express5:10.57
9Rae Croteau Jr.Tornado Projects Ltd./Cinch Oilfield Hauling Ltd.5:11.10
10Jordie FikeBro-Tech Plumbing & Heating Inc.5:11.47
11Troy DorchesterTeam Rig & Supply5:11.77
12Mitch SutherlandQuick Mats Ltd.5:12.66
13Dayton SutherlandBrandell Diesel Inc.5:13.21
14Dustin GorstCentury Downs Racetrack & Casino 5:14.96
15Chad FikeTim’s Glass/Sherriff’s Farms5:15.39
16Ross KnightPremium Ag5:15.64
17Darcy FladMartin Sheilds MP – Bow River5:16.53
18Chance BensmillerCORE Ag Inputs5:16.78
19Troy FladMr. Fireplace5:17.05
20Dean DregerCor-Ex Energy Services Inc.5:18.72
21Cruise BensmillerAIC Construction Ltd.5:19.06
22Layne FladZegil Automotive & Transmission/Pure Country Meats5:20.71
23Chance FladAspen Crossing5:20.81
24Chance ThomsonBlackjack Livestock Co./Edmonton Custom Packers5:20.90
25Obrey MotowyloCo-operators Insurance Group Ltd.5:22.89
26Doug IrvineGilligan’s Boat Sales Ltd./Redline Athletics/All Brite Signs/Sign Solutions5:23.11
27Derek AeblyJag Flocomponents LLP5:26.17
28Josh HrynykBarbeejay Supplies Ltd.5:26.42
29Todd McCrackenLogistic Solutions Energy5:27.38
30Evan SalmondWest Land Livestock Inc.5:29.34
31Kelly MorinTamara Desjardains – CIR Realty Strathmore5:29.46
32Wade SalmondBurnra Welding Ltd.5:31.46
33Gage FladBow Slope Shipping Association5:36.16
34Roy RomanowCoulee Equine Conditioning & Rehabilitation5:38.58
35Tuff DregerTown of Strathmore5:43.87
36Mark SutherlandReinhart Oilfield Services Ltd.



Leave a Reply