Kurt Bensmiller takes home the win in Grand Prairie

It was an off track and a highly anticipated final day at the Grande Prairie Stompede with $25,000.00, a new GMC truck up and the 2016 Grande Prairie Stompede Championship on the line. In what was truly an exciting chuckwagon race, Kurt Bensmiller – driving the Tsuu T’ina Nation Outfit, and along with outriders Wayne Wright and Shawn Calf Robe, captured the first leg of the Sierra Cup Series presented by GMC.

Coming off of barrel position number 2 in the sudden death final, Bensmiller captured Grande Prairie crown with a penalty free run of 1:21.61. Kelly Sutherland from barrel position number 4 placed second in the heat, just 11 one-hundredths of a second behind the winner Bensmiller. John Walters who was making his first appearance in the Grande Prairie final placed third from barrel position number 3, while aggregate winner Troy Dorchester had the misfortune of knocking a barrel over and placed fourth in the heat from barrel number 1.

As far as day results go, Obrey Motowylo won the day money after posting the fast time of the night with a 1:19.03, and was the only driver to break the 1:20.00 mark on the night. Rae Croteau Jr. placed second, followed by Logan Gorst, Layne MacGillivray and Ross Knight filling out the top five on the final night.

The WPCA Pro Tour presented will now take a break for one weekend prior to moving on to Saskatoon, Saskatchewan for the second running of the Saskatoon World Chuckwagon Races starting on Thursday, June 9 and running through to Sunday, June 12, 2016. Mark Sutherland is the defending champion, and live coverage can be heard starting Thursday night, June 9, 2016 at 9:00pm Eastern, 8:00pm Central, and 7:000pm Mountain time on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147 or on Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville.

Tsuu T’ina Nation
Kurt Bensmiller – Driver
Shawn Calf Robe, Wayne Wright – Outriders
Championship Final Heat (By Barrel Draw) Total Time
1 Troy Dorchester LaFarge Canada/PureChem Services 1:27.05
2 Kurt Bensmiller Tsuu T’ina Nation 1:21.61
3 John Walters R/T Rentals 1:22.16
4 Kelly Sutherland Happy Trails RV 1:21.72
2016 RALPH VIGEN MEMORIAL AWARD (Best Aggregate Time over 4 Days)
Troy Dorchester – 5:08.71
Day 5 Results 
Rank Driver Sponsor Total Time
1 Obrey Motowylo H & E Oilfield Services Ltd. 1:19.03
2 Rae Croteau Jr. Red Oak Industrial 1:20.40
3 Logan Gorst River Stone Golf Course 1:21.07
4 Layne MacGillivray Lyons Production Services 1:21.12
5 Ross Knight Initial Industries Ltd. 1:21.45
6 Kurt Bensmiller Tsuu T’ina Nation 1:21.61
7 Mitch Sutherland Ken Sargent GMC Buick Ltd. 1:21.69
8 Kelly Sutherland Happy Trails RV 1:21.72
9 Rick Fraser Keddies Tack & Western Wear 1:21.80
10 Layne Bremner Trumpeter Local 26 ATA 1:21.86
11 Codey McCurrach Enerplus 1:21.97
12 Cliff Cunningham* MDJ Oilfield Service Inc. 1:21.99
13 Evan Salmond All Peace Petroleum 1:22.16
14 John Walters R/T Rentals 1:22.16
15 Kirk Sutherland Lakeside Oilfield Services 1:22.21
16 Jason Glass Birchcliff Energy Ltd. 1:22.28
17 Gary Gorst Northstar Hydrovac Inc. 1:22.46
18 Doug Irvine B & R Eckel’s Transport Ltd. 1:22.52
19 Darcy Flad NAK Design Strategies 1:22.55
20 Mark Sutherland Pomeroy Inn & Suites 1:22.71
21 Colt Cosgrave Trinidad Drilling 1:22.91
22 Vern Nolin Denton’s 1:23.13
23 Chad Fike VJV Livestock Auction – Beaverlodge 1:23.29
24 Troy Flad Racing for Fort McMurray 1:23.45
25 Mike Vigen Sundown Oilfield 1:23.59
26 Jordie Fike H & M Meats 1:23.63
27 Cody Fraser GP Corn Maze/Country Roadz RV Park 1:23.76
28 Jim Knight Priority Fence 1:23.78
29 Chad Harden Beaut Oilfield 1:24.66
30 Chanse Vigen Red Oak Industrial 1:24.73
31 Dustin Gorst Grande Prairie Airport 1:24.75
32 Curtis Morin Crazy 8’s Quilters 1:25.34
33 Troy Dorchester PureChem Services 1:27.05
34 Luke Tournier Barrack Energy 1:27.12
35 Cody Ridsdale Triple K Oilfield Services 1:27.32
36 Roger Moore AFD Petroleum 1:27.93
* Jess Willard drove for Cliff Cunningham


Story and results courtesy Billy Melville, HalfMileOfHell.com.



Related Posts

2019 Century Downs World Chuckwagon Finals – Rocky View, Alberta – Final Results
2019 Century Downs World Chuckwagon Finals – Rocky View, Alberta – Day Two Results
2019 Century Downs World Chuckwagon Finals – Rocky View, Alberta – Night One Results

Leave a Reply