Kris Molle Takes Home the 2022 Medicine Hat Exhibition & Stampede Championship

MEDICINE HAT, Alberta (June 19th, 2022) – The finals of the Medicine Hat Exhibition & Stampede wrapped up on Sunday afternoon on a fantastic racetrack and under cloudy skies at 17°C. It was a classic sudden death final that featured Chad Fike, Kris Molle and Doug Irvine. 

When the dust settled on what was a truly exciting final, it was Kris Molle, driving the Benoit Oilfield Construction (1997) Ltd. outfit, and along with outriders Brendan Nolin and Kaeden Molle who captured the 2022 Medicine Hat Exhibition & Stampede Championship. For Kris Molle, who won several show championships as a member of the Canadian Professional Chuckwagon Association (CPCA), it was his first win on the WPCA Pro Tour since joining last year. For outrider Kaeden Molle (Kris’ son), it was the first show championship of his young outriding career, and made for a memorable father’s day for the Molle family.

In a thrilling penalty-free championship final heat, Molle’s run of 1:02.41 was just 5 one-hundredths of a second faster than Doug Irvine from barrel number 1. Chad Fike ran third in the race from barrel number 3.

On the day, Rae Croteau Jr. won his second day money in the past 4 days with a very fast 1:02.14 from barrel 1 in heat 12. He was tops on the day by one-tenth of a second over Mark Sutherland, followed by Kirk Sutherland, Mitch Sutherland, and eventual champion Kris Molle rounding out the top five on the day. Rae Croteau Jr. and Ross Knight also qualified for the Ponoka Stampede which will take place in two weeks.

The WPCA Pro Tour now moves to Dewberry, Alberta for the Dewberry World Chuckwagon Races starting on Friday, June 24 and continuing through to Sunday June 26.

Billy Melville

2022 Medicine Hat Exhibition & Stampede Champions
Benoit Oilfield Construction (1997) Ltd.
Kris Molle – Driver
Brendan Nolin, Kayden Molle – Outriders
Championship Final Heat (By Barrel Selection)Total Time
1Doug IrvineStringam LLP/Sign Solutions/All Brite Signs1:02.46
2Kris MolleBenoit Oilfield Construction (1997) Ltd.1:02.41
3Chad FikeLost River Ranches Ltd.1:03.06
Day 4 Results 
RankDriverSponsorTotal Time
1Rae Croteau Jr.Tornado Projects Ltd.1:02.14
2Mark SutherlandIn Memory of Gerald “Brass” Campion1:02.24
3Kirk Sutherland (Wagon #2)Daler Pressure Services Ltd./Hodge Pressure Services Ltd.1:02.35
4Mitch SutherlandDavis GMC Buick1:02.38
5Kris MolleBenoit Oilfield Construction (1997) Ltd.1:02.41
6/7Obrey MotowyloCo-operators Insurance1:02.42
6/7Vern NolinMcCaw’s Drilling & Blasting Ltd.1:02.42
8Doug IrvineStringam LLP1:02.46
9Jordie FikeTackit Contracting Ltd.1:02.89
10Wade SalmondMint Smartwash1:02.92
11Kirk SutherlandDaler Pressure Services Ltd./Hodge Pressure Services Ltd.1:02.99
12Layne MacGillivrayCascade Energy Corp.1:03.00
13Chad FikeLost River Ranches Ltd.1:03.06
14Evan MageeMinuteman Press1:03.20
15Layne FladHranco Industries Ltd.1:03.24
16Chance BensmillerPinnacle Picker Services Ltd.1:03.68
17Troy DorchesterPureChem Services1:03.75
18Chanse VigenGlover International Trucks/Volker Stevin1:03.77
19Chad HardenSandy Hills Simmentals/First Class Cattle Marketing Ltd.1:03.81
20Jason GlassBirchcliff Energy Ltd.1:03.82
21Evan SalmondHydrodig1:03.97
22Chance ThomsonThorsby Stockyards1:04.03
23Codey McCurrachEnerplus Corporation1:04.22
24Cruise BensmillerAlberta Massage & Spa1:04.34
25Cody RidsdalePaddle Prairie Metis Settlement1:04.65
26Ross KnightNorthShore Tire1:04.77
27Dean DregerNorthern Mat & Bridge1:05.05
28Darcy FladDynamic Industrial Solutions 1:05.10
29Josh HrynykSpider Electric Ltd.1:05.31
30Tuff DregerPomeroy Lodging LP1:05.43
31Dayton SutherlandManitoulin Transport1:05.63
32Derek AeblyJag Flocomponents LLP1:05.89
33Wade Salmond (Wagon #2)Pidherney’s1:08.06
34Dustin GorstCentury Downs Racetrack and Casino1:08.70
35Troy FladFriends of Troy Flad1:09.19
36Roy RomanowInked Energy Services Ltd.1:09.35
37Kelly MorinVantage Housing Solutions1:09.60
38Kurt BensmillerTsuu T’ina Nation1:09.84
39Chance FladAspen Crossing



Leave a Reply