2022 Grande Prairie Stompede – Day 1 Results

GRANDE PRAIRIE (May 25,2022) – The start of the 2022 chuckwagon season kicked off on Wednesday night with the 43rd running of the Grande Prairie Stompede. 44 drivers are here to contend for this year’s Grande Prairie championship, while Obrey Motowylo came into the 2022 season as the reigning World Champion Chuckwagon Driver.

Weather conditions were cool under mostly cloudy skies with a touch of rain, but racetrack conditions were very good, and some spectacular chuckwagon races were seen by the Grande Prairie fans on opening night of the professional chuckwagon season. When the night wrapped up it was local hero kirk Sutherland who opened up the 2022 season with the fast time of the night with a fast run of 1:17.14.

Coming off barrel number 1 in heat number 10, Sutherland, driving the Hansen Ford outfit placed first overall for the day by exactly one-tenth of a second over two-time Grande Prairie Champion Jason Glass who placed 2nd overall for the night. Kale Lajeunesse made his WPCA debut a successful one placing third, Layne MacGillivray placed fourth, while Kurt Bensmiller fifth place on the night.

The top wagon in the aggregate after Saturday’s run will receive the Ralph Vigen Memorial Award and the use of a new GMC Truck for one year. The top 4 drivers in the aggregate after Saturday night will go into the championship final heat on Sunday where the winner will receive a $25,000.00 winner’s cheque and the Grande Prairie Stompede Championship.

Day two of the Grande Prairie Stompede can be heard live Thursday night, May 26, 2022 on Real Country 910AM starting at 8:30pm Eastern, 7:30pm Central, 6:30pm Mountain Time. As well, fans can watch the races live on the Cowboy Channel + App streaming platform.

Billy Melville

Day 1 Results 
RankDriverSponsorTotal Time
1Kirk SutherlandHansen Ford1:17.14
2Jason GlassBirchcliff Energy Ltd.1:17.24
3Kale LajeunesseMcCallum’s Autobody & Towing1:17.52
4Layne MacGillivrayCascade Energy Corp.1:17.61
5Kurt BensmillerHalf a Dime Contracting Ltd.1:17.67
6Kris MolleHansen Ford1:17.98
7Rae CroteauKaidak Energy Services Inc.1:18.07
8Wade SalmondPidherney’s1:18.25
9Evan SalmondCity of Grande Prairie1:18.33
10Vern NolinMcCaw’s Drilling & Blasting Ltd.1:18.38
11Doug IrvineSwab Pro (2018) Ltd.1:18.46
12Ross KnightHays Group Sand and Gravel1:18.52
13Brad McMannOptimum Equipment Solutions1:18.61
14Chance FladControl Tech1:18.62
15Logan GorstNorthstar Hydrovac Inc.1:18.69
16Jordie FikeH & M Meats1:18.83
17Chad FikeCIMS Corporation1:19.04
18Codey McCurrachFriends of McCurracing1:19.08
19Troy DorchesterPureChem Services1:19.23
20Rick FraserLiquid Edge Oilfield Services Ltd.1:19.50
21Obrey MotowyloDynamic Energy Group Inc.1:19.52
22Mark SutherlandFTEN Group of Companies Inc.1:19.58
23Jamie LaboucaneDavco Industrial Construction Services Ltd.1:19.70
24Chance ThomsonDaler Pressure Services Ltd.1:19.81
25Dustin GorstGrande Prairie Airport1:19.83
26Chance BensmillerPinnacle Picker Services Ltd.1:19.99
27Derek AeblyFriends of Aebly Racing1:20.03
28Tuff DregerBDP Traffic Management1:20.10
29Dayton SutherlandNordic Energy Canada Corp.1:20.29
30Layne FladKeddies Tack & Western Wear1:20.43
31Josh HrynykStryker Energy1:20.71
32Dean DregerNorthern Mat & Bridge1:20.81
33Todd McCrackenMaximum Tank Truck Services Ltd.1:21.27
34/35Darcy FladLakeside Oilfield Services1:22.11
34/35Roger MooreTriplex Oilfield Services Ltd.1:22.11
36Chanse VigenSundown Oilfield Services Ltd.1:22.14
37Mitch SutherlandRentco Equipment Ltd.1:22.68
38Chad HardenHard’n’ Wild1:23.00
39Roy RomanowInked Energy1:23.68
40Troy FladRed Oak Industrial Rentals Ltd.1:25.46
41Evan MageeKrycket Consulting1:26.65
42Kelly MorinMorin’Ever1:26.75
43Cruise BensmillerFarm Boys Oilfield Services Inc.1:27.47
44Cody RidsdaleEnvolve Energy Services Corp.



Leave a Reply