2022 Bonnyville Chuckwagon Championship – Bonnyville, Alberta

One year after he thought he had won the championship until a late penalty took it away from him, Chanse Vigen, driving KUDO Energy Services outfit, and along with outriders Rory Armstrong and Ryan “Mad Dog” McNeill, got some redemption and won the Victor Ringuette Memorial Championship Final heat and the 2022 Bonnyville Chuckwagon Championship.

Coming off barrel number 3 in heat number 10, Vigen won the championship final by 56 one-hundreds of a second over rookie driver Cruise Bensmiller who came from barrel number 1.  Chance Flad, finished in third place overall in the championship final from barrel number two, with Wade Salmond, who crossed the finish line in third place, received a two-second penalty for creating a false start and was pushed back into fourth place overall. It was the first appearance in a championship final for drivers Cruise Bensmiller, Chance Flad and Wade Salmond.

On the day, permit driver Brad McMann, driving the Optimum Equipment Solutions outfit, posted the fast run of the afternoon and won his first day money on the WPCA Pro Tour with a 1:18.00. That put him 21 one-hundreds of a second faster than 2022 Bonnyville Champion Chanse Vigen who placed second for the day. Kris Molle was third, Cruise Bensmiller fourth, with Cody Ridsdale filling out the top fives times on the final day of competition.

The WPCA Pro Tour will now take a one week break before embarking on Medicine Hat, Alberta for the Medicine Hat Exhibition & Stampede starting Thursday June 16, 2022 and running through to Sunday, June 19, 2022.

Billy Melville

2022 Bonnyville Chuckwagon Championship Champions
KUDO Energy Services
Chanse Vigen – Driver
Rory Armstrong, Ryan McNeill – Outriders
Victor Ringuette Memorial Championship Final Heat (By Barrel Selection)Total Time
1Cruise BensmillerENT Oilfield Inc.1:18.77
2Chance FladGen4 Transport Inc.1:20.96
3Chanse VigenKUDO Energy Services1:18.21
4Wade SalmondMac’s Oilfield Services Ltd.1:22.28
Day 4 Results 
RankDriverSponsorTotal Time
1Brad McMannOptimum Equipment Solutions1:18.00
2Chanse VigenKUDO Energy Services1:18.21
2Vern NolinMcCaw’s Drilling & Blasting Ltd.1:18.21
4Kris MolleBenoit Oilfield Construction (1997) Ltd.1:18.46
5Cruise BensmillerENT Oilfield Inc.1:18.77
6Cody RidsdaleEnvolve Energy Services Corp.1:19.05
7Roger MooreNational Motor Coach Systems Ltd. 1:19.22
8Evan MageeKrycket Consulting1:19.34
9Kurt BensmillerLocation (1989) Cats Ltd./Heart Lake First Nation Construction1:19.47
10Chance BensmillerFirst General Services Bonnyville Ltd.1:19.82
11Ross KnightNorthShore Tire1:20.06
12Layne MacGillivrayCougar Fuels Ltd.1:20.09
13Doug IrvineB&R Eckel’s Transport Ltd.1:20.22
14Chad Fike (Wagon #2)Al’s Contracting 1:20.25
15Rae Croteau Jr.Baker Tilly RSG LLP1:20.38
16Kirk SutherlandDaler Pressure Services Ltd./Hodge Pressure Services Ltd.1:20.41
17Jason GlassBirchcliff Energy Ltd.1:20.51
18Evan SalmondDynamo Small Engine Sales & Service1:20.60
19Chad FikeAl’s Contracting 1:20.65
20Mitch SutherlandTercier Motors Ltd.1:20.87
21Chance FladGen4 Transport Inc.1:20.96
22Obrey MotowyloThe Co-operators1:21.23
23Roger Moore (Wagon #2)All Lives Matter1:21.24
23Dustin GorstBig Time Towing & Recovery Ltd.1:21.24
25Josh HrynykTop Grade Construction Ltd.1:21.60
26Jordie FikeTeam JW1:21.75
27Codey McCurrachTOMCO Group of Companies1:21.81
28Troy DorchesterPureChem Services1:21.89
29Dean DregerNorthern Mat & Bridge1:22.10
30Tuff DregerPomeroy Lodging LP1:22.19
31Wade SalmondMac’s Oilfield Services Ltd.1:22.28
32Chad HardenXtreme Oilfield Technology1:22.30
33Darcy FladBoon Energy Services 1:22.86
34Kirk Sutherland (Wagon #2)Daler Pressure Services Ltd./Hodge Pressure Services Ltd.1:23.78
35Layne FladRednecks With A Cause1:24.47
36Troy FladBonnyville Bolt Supply Ltd.1:25.25
37Kelly MorinVantage Housing Solutions1:26.11
38Chance ThomsonBonnyville Agricultural Society1:26.53
39Dayton SutherlandEvery Child Matters/Reita Creek Scoreboards1:27.50
40Mark SutherlandFTEN Group of Companies Inc.N.T



Leave a Reply