2015 Battle of the North – Dawson Creek, British Columbia

Overcast skies and the threat of heavy rains looked inevitable at the Battle of the North as the WPCA Pro Tour by embarked on Mile “0” of the Alaska Highway in Dawson Creek, British Columbia. The rains held off until after the nightly were complete, and 4-time Dawson Creek finalist Rae Croteau Jr., driving the TOMCO Group of Companies outfit, emerged with the fast time of the night with a 1:14.00.

From barrel number 2 in the 6th heat, Croteau bested Luke Tournier by 59 one-hundredths of a second. Gary Gorst continued his good run by placing third, Evan Salmond was fourth and defending champion Kirk Sutherland rounded out the top five on the night.

The Battle of the North is part of the GMC Sierra Cup Series. The top 4 drivers in the aggregate after Saturday’s run will go into the winner-take-all championship final heat where the winner will take home a 2015 GMC Sierra truck, a big bonus cheque, and the 2015 Battle of the North Championship.

Night 2 of the Battle of the North Championship from Dawson Creek, British Columbia for the Battle of the North can be heard live on Thursday night, August 6, 2015 starting at 9:30pm Eastern, 8:30pm Central and 7:30pm Mountain Time on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 80, and Country 99 at 99.7 FM out of Bonnyville

Billy Melville


Day 1 Results 
Driver Sponsor Total Time
1 Rae Croteau Jr. TOMCO Group of Companies 1:14.00
2 Luke Tournier Keddies Tack & Western Wear 1:14.59
3 Gary Gorst Northstar Hydrovac Inc. 1:14.87
4 Evan Salmond Petrotranz 1:15.28
5 Kirk Sutherland EMCO Corporation 1:15.32
6 Troy Dorchester DGS Astro Paving 1:15.43
7 Chad Harden Borek Construction Ltd. 1:15.45
8 Dustin Gorst Grande Prairie Airport 1:15.49
9 Cliff Cunningham MDJ Oilfield Service Inc. 1:15.62
10 Obrey Motowylo H & E Oilfield Services Ltd. 1:15.98
11 Mike Vigen Nordic Energy Canada Corp. 1:16.09
12 Roger Moore Rusway Construction Ltd. 1:16.18
13 Kelly Sutherland Tervita 1:16.38
14 Kurt Bensmiller Tsuu T’ina Nation 1:16.48
15 Chanse Vigen Troyer Ventures 1:16.53
16 Mark Sutherland Pomeroy Inn & Suites 1:16.58
17 Jordie Fike Rafter G Land & Cattle 1:16.64
18 Logan Gorst Red Oak Industrial Rentals 1:17.12
19 Cody Ridsdale DND Electric 1:17.17
20 Layne MacGillivray Aurora Farms 1:17.41
21 Barry Hodgson Roadtrek 1:17.43
22 Doug Irvine B & R Eckel’s Transport Ltd. 1:17.56
23 John Walters Arrow Insurance Agency Ltd. 1:17.64
24 Ross Knight Initial Industries Ltd. 1:18.19
25 Chad Fike JIMBOB Group of Companies 1:18.43
26 Jim Knight Pouce Coupe Esso & Car Wash 1:18.80
27 Mitch Sutherland Brown’s Chevrolet Buick GMC 1:20.09
28 Jerry Bremner VJV Dawson Creek Auction 1:20.56
29 Troy Flad Rycroft Ranch Supplies & Apparel 1:20.83
30 Jason Glass Birchcliff Energy Ltd. 1:21.67
31 Rick Fraser Northwell Oilfield Hauling (2009) Inc. 1:21.78
32 Jess Willard AB Security 1:22.08
33 Colt Cosgrave Red Oak Industrial Rentals 1:22.38
34 Tyson Graham Brayco Services 1:22.44
35 Darcy Flad Longhorn Oilfield and Little Valley Holdings 1:23.67
36 Codey McCurrach Strike Energy 1:25.23
* Kirk Sutherland Drove for Jerry Bremner.
** Kelly Sutherland Drove For Darcy Flad



Related Posts

Kirk Sutherland speeds to Rangeland Derby title
Doug Irvine claims Medicine Hat Exhibition and Stampede WPCA title
Vern Nolin cashes in at Ashley Richards Memorial in Saskatoon

Leave a Reply