WPCA Pro Tour Results – Medicine Hat – Day One

Photo by Covy Moore/covymoore.com

After an unscheduled night off due to an unsettled weather cell, the WPCA Pro Tour resumed Friday night with night 1 of the Medicine Hat Exhibition & Stampede. Racetrack conditions were excellent, and some outstanding chuckwagon races were witnessed by a near capacity crowd. When the night wrapped up, reigning World Champion Chuckwagon Driver Kurt Bensmiller had the fast time of the night with a penalty free run of 1:02.65.

Coming off barrel number 3 in heat number 12, Bensmiller, driving the Versatile Energy Services Ltd. outfit placed first overall for the day by just 5 one-hundredths over Vern Nolin who placed 2nd on the night from the same heat. Codey McCurrach, Evan Salmond and Luke Tournier rounded out the top 5 fastest times for the night.

The aggregate has been shortened to two runs, where the top 3 drivers in the aggregate standings after Saturday night will go into Sunday’s championship final heat. The winner of Sunday’s final wins the 2019 Medicine Hat Exhibition & Stampede Championship.

Day 2 of the Medicine Hat Exhibition & Stampede can be heard live on Saturday, June 15, 2019 starting at 9:00pm Eastern, 8:00pm Central, and 7:00pm Mountain time on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147 Satellite Radio, Country 99 in Bonnyville, and Real Country 910am.

Billy Melville

Rank Driver Sponsor Total Time
1 Kurt Bensmiller Versatile Energy Services Ltd. 1:02.65
2 Vern Nolin Crowbourne Capital Corp. 1:02.70
3 Codey McCurrach Adveture Enterprises 1:02.98
4 Evan Salmond Gas City Hydrovac Ltd. 1:03.18
5 Luke Tournier Iron Horse Energy Services 2009 1:03.36
6 Jason Glass Birchcliff Energy Ltd. 1:03.72
7 Josh Hrynyk Spider Electric 1:03.79
8 John Walters Pidherney’s 1:03.81
9 Jordie Fike Weir Construction 1:03.91
10 Layne MacGillivray Cascade Energy Services L.P. 1:04.30
11 Kirk Sutherland Red Deer Motors 1:04.35
12 Doug Irvine Stringam LLP 1:04.44
13 Chance Flad Aspen Crossing 1:04.45
14 Mitch Sutherland Davis GMC Buick 1:04.62
15 Roger Moore Rusway Construction Ltd. 1:04.89
16 Chad Fike Big Hill Services & Arena Supplies 1:04.96
17 Logan Gorst Duzz All Drilling 1:04.97
18 Gary Gorst Northstar Hydrovac Inc. 1:05.03
19 Obrey Motowylo Co-operators Insurance 1:05.05
19 Cody Ridsdale DND Electric 1:05.05
21 Curtis Morin Dwight’s Trenching 1:05.20
22 Layne Flad Red Deer Motors 1:05.22
23 Troy Flad Ironwood Building Corp. 1:05.41
24 Dustin Gorst Century Downs Racetrack & Casino 1:05.59
25 Troy Dorchester Eldorado Pressure Services 1:05.71
26 Chad Harden Spartan Controls 1:05.74
27 Mike Vigen Dynamic Industrial Solutions 1:05.90
28 Mark Sutherland Friends of Sutherland Racing/Brand USA 1:06.31
29 Bob Van Eaton Horseshoe Paving Ltd. 1:06.52
30 Darcy Flad Kelts Transport 1:06.91
#N/A Blaid Flad Palliser Sales/Kubota 1:07.29
#N/A Ross Knight Chrome Diesel Repair 1:09.70
#N/A Wade Salmond Canalta Centre 1:10.35
#N/A Roy Romanow F & S Safety Buzz 1:14.07
#N/A Chanse Vigen High River Autoplex & RV 1:19.52
36 Kelly Morin Ollie’s Trucking N.T
* Kirk Sutherland drove for Layne Flad

*Courtesy of the WPCA



Leave a Reply