Slash Steals the Show in Front of Hometown Crowd

Ponoka, AB: It was quite the night last night at the new Ponoka Ag Event Center for the NYE 8 Second Countdown. Stop #1 on the PBR Canadian Touring Pro Schedule. What a great event I must say to start. Any of you who weren’t there missed out!

I don’t want to give away the story of what happened to those those who don’t yet know so here are some videos showing how it all happened. Check out my YouTube Channel at to see the rest!

Here’s how it happened in Ponoka:

Ty Pozzobon started off the Long Round with a great effort and good score:

2011 PBR Canadian National Champion Tyler Thomson took on the Triangle X Bull 501 Boiling Point:

Veteran Jason Finkbeiner drew up the Wild Hoggs Bucking Bull 747 South of Heaven and this is how it went:

The plot was rather thick when the top rider would face Slash. Cody Ford was one of the last guys to ride in the Long Go and was matched up against the Sawyer Bull 631 Rumble Seat looking to get to that #1 spot.


After the Long Go things looked like this:

  1. Cody Ford 86
  2. Jason Finkbeiner 85.5
  3. Tied to 6th with 85’s: Tyler Thomson, Tanner Girlets, Tanner Byrne, Ty Pozzobon
Then came the Short Round

Tanner Girletz made a great ride on the Eno/Kubinchak bull Kicking Stones in the Long Go to end up in the Short Go here on Up Tight of the Outlaw Buckers Rodeo Corp:

Jason Finkbeiner got matched up with Big Valley Black to give him a shot at the winning it all:

And here’s what it all came down to. Cody Ford or Oregon vs. 400 VJV Slash for all the marbles:


Overall event results:

  1. Cody Ford 175 pts
  2. Tanner Girlets 170
  3. Zane Lambert
  4. Clint Johnson
  5. Matt Tripplett

That’s not nearly all from Ponoka though. Not all of the videos have been uploaded yet and I have an interview with Cody talking about the win along with a full wrap up report with Brett Gardiner! Look for those to come Monday and Tuesday.

Until then, enjoy 2012!



Related Posts

Cowboy Sh!t – The Podcast
Rider Qualifiers Announced for PBR’s 30th Anniversary World Finals in Fort Worth, Texas, as Intense Race to be Crowned the 2023 World Champion Winds to a Climactic End
Seven Canadians Within the Top 20 of the PRCA Standings

Leave a Reply