2013 WRA Challenge Champions

BARRHEAD, Alberta — The 2013 WRA Challenge Finals wrapped up in Barrhead on this afternoon. It was a Championship Sunday performance that witnessed titles won and lost before the packed crowd at the Agrena.

In the Bareback, Cole Goodine was untouchable as he ran the table and won all five rounds and the average on route to a WRA title. In the calf roping, it was Thorsby cowboy Darren Dublanko who came out on top winning the average and the championship.

In the Steer Wrestling, the newly crowned WRA Cowboy of the Year, Glen Allen Nash was unstoppable after a 3.7 second run today to win his first WRA title. The average in the Steer Wrestling was won by Tyler Wilkinson, but wasn’t enough to catch Nash, who also captured the finals high point title as well.

The Ladies Barrel Racing was a tight finish that came down to knocked down barrels and the average. When the dust settled it was a clean run from multiple time CFR qualifier Carolynn Knapp, who won he average and the title. In the Saddle Bronc, Big Valley cowboy Wyatt Thurston stepped up to plate, rode consistent, and prevailed as the average and finals champion.

In Team Roping, the 2012 champions Murdock Keith and Kody Potts had to battle hard to defend their titles. After grabbing one leg on Sunday it proved to be enough for the average and the 2013 championship. One man dominated the Bullriding in Barrhead. CJ Davidson of Hinton, AB rode all five bulls including Thompson’s Adam’s Family Sunday on route to capturing his first WRA championship.

The Junior event champions were: Jr.Bulls- Austin Nash; Jr. Steers- Kagen Schmidt; Jr.Breakaway- Dillion Grahame; Jr.Barrels-Leanne Frey; Peewee Barrels- Tori Graham; Novice Horse Riding- Riley Borris.



Related Posts

Rider Qualifiers Announced for PBR’s 30th Anniversary World Finals in Fort Worth, Texas, as Intense Race to be Crowned the 2023 World Champion Winds to a Climactic End
Seven Canadians Within the Top 20 of the PRCA Standings
ATB Enters Three-Year Agreement as Presenting Sponsor of the Canadian Finals Rodeo

Leave a Reply