WPCA Pro Tour Results – 2019 Battle of the North – Dawson Creek British Columbia

Photo by Covy Moore/covymoore.com

The 2019 edition of the Battle of the North Championship in Dawson Creek, British Columbia is in the books, and Chanse Vigen, driving the Sundown Oilfield Services outfit, and along with outriders Rory Armstrong and Ryan “Mad Dog” MacNeill, captured the championship and a $10,000.00 bonus cheque. It’s the second title for Vigen this season who captured the Saskatoon World Chuckwagon Races back in June, and the first show championship win for outrider Rory Armstrong.

In a penalty free championship final heat, Chanse Vigen won the championship with a run of 1:20.59 from barrel position number 1. Kurt Bensmiller placed second from barrel number 2, just 9 one-hundredths of a second behind the champion Chanse Vigen. Defending champion Ross Knight grabbed third from barrel position number 3, while Dustin Gorst placed fourth from barrel position number 4. Vigen was the undisputed champion of Dawson Creek as earlier in the night, he received the use of a 2019 GMC Pickup Truck for being the Battle of the North Aggregate Winner, while Josh Hrynyk was presented with the Kenn Borek Memorial Most Sportsmanlike Driver award.

As far as the day results go, Chad Harden and his Borek Construction Ltd. was not only the fast time on the night, but of the race meet after posting a run of 1:20.34. 2019 Champion Chanse Vigen placed second, exactly one-quarter of a second behind Chad Harden. Kurt Bensmiller placed third, Vern Nolin in fourth and Codey McCurrach filled out the five best times on the night.

The 2019 WPCA Pro Tour will move to Rocky Mountain House, Alberta for the running of the Battle of the Rockies starting on Thursday, August 15, 2019 and running through to Sunday, August 18, 2019. It’s the last chance for the drivers to try and make the top twelve for a chance to qualify for the Century Downs and Casino Winner’s Zone Playoff Round. Live radio coverage of the Battle of the Rockies from Rocky Mountain House can be heard Thursday through Saturday on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147 Satellite Radio, Country 99 in Bonnyville, Real Country 910am, or on the WPCA Radio App, starting at 9:00pm Eastern, 8:00pm Central and 7:00pm Mountain Time, with Sundays final starting at 4:00pm Eastern, 3:00pm Central and 2:00pm Mountain Time.

Billy Melville

Sundown Oilfield Services
Chanse Vigen – Driver
Ryan MacNeill & Rory Armstrong – Outriders
Championship Final Heat (By Barrel Selection) Total Time
1 Chanse Vigen Sundown Oilfield Services 1:20.59
2 Kurt Bensmiller Trans Peace Construction 1:20.68
3 Ross Knight Chrome Diesel Repair 1:22.06
4 Dustin Gorst Grande Prairie Airport 1:22.98
Kenn Borek Memorial Most Sportsmanlike Driver
Josh Hrynyk
Day 4 Results 
Rank Driver Sponsor Total Time
1 Chad Harden Borek Construction Ltd. 1:20.34
2 Chanse Vigen Sundown Oilfield Services 1:20.59
3 Kurt Bensmiller Trans Peace Construction 1:20.68
4 Vern Nolin Crowbourne Capital Corp. 1:21.29
5 Codey McCurrach Worldwide Matrix Inc. 1:21.51
6 Luke Tournier North Fork Ranch 1:21.62
7 Logan Gorst Peterbilt Pacific Inc. 1:21.63
8 Evan Salmond SA Energy Group 1:21.83
9 Darcy Flad Longhorn Oilfield Services/Little Valley Holdings 1:21.84
10 Ross Knight Chrome Diesel Repair 1:22.06
11 Chance Flad Control Tech 1:22.08
12 Gary Gorst Northstar Hydrovac Inc. 1:22.16
13 Mitch Sutherland Browns’ Chevrolet Buick GMC 1:22.42
14 Bob Van Eaton The George Dawson Inn 1:22.56
15 Jordie Fike Rafter G Land & Cattle Co. 1:22.66
16 Wade Salmond Vold, Jones & Vold Auction Co. Ltd. 1:22.71
17 Blaid Flad Compass Access Solutions Ltd. 1:22.74
18 Roger Moore PCL Construction 1:22.77
19 Chad Fike La Maison Simons 1:22.88
20 Kelly Morin Saskwest Mechanical 1:22.96
21 Dustin Gorst Grande Prairie Airport 1:22.98
22 Troy Flad Rycroft Ranch Supply 1:23.11
23 Doug Irvine Calamity Gean Horseshoeing Service 1:23.23
24 Josh Hrynyk Stryker Energy Services 1:23.32
25 Obrey Motowylo VJV Dawson Creek Auction 1:23.44
26 Jason Glass Birchcliff Energy Ltd. 1:23.57
27 Kirk Sutherland Red Deer Motors 1:24.01
28 John Walters Arrow Insurance Agency Ltd. 1:24.10
29 Dayton Sutherland Subsurfce Construction 1:24.33
30 Curtis Morin Maurice Law 1:24.42
31 Cody Ridsdale DND Electric 1:25.36
32 Troy Dorchester PureChem Services 1:25.64
33 Layne Flad ICBA – Independent Contractors & Business Associates 1:25.95
34 Mark Sutherland Friends of Sutherland Racing/Brand USA 1:26.17
35 Layne MacGillivray Cascade Energy Services L.P. 1:27.18
36 Roy Romanow Keddies Tack & Western Wear 1:27.30
*Kirk Sutherland drove for Bob Van Eaton

Courtesy of the WPCA



Related Posts

Cowboy Sh!t – The Podcast
Seven Canadians Within the Top 20 of the PRCA Standings
PRCA Heavy Hitters Punch Their Tickets on Wild Card Wednesday

Leave a Reply