2019 Century Downs World Chuckwagon Finals – Rocky View, Alberta – Night One Results

Photo courtesy of Covy Moore/covymoore.com

Night one of the inaugural Century Downs World Chuckwagon Finals is in the books and opening night was a tremendous success. The races were run in front of a near capacity crowd, it was a hot 28°C under a few clouds with excellent racetrack conditions. With over $300,000.00 in cash and prized on the line over the 5-day event, excitement filled the venue as Roger Moore established the track record with a penalty free run of 1:23.16.

In the main event, Chanse Vigen was tops among the elite twelve drivers who qualified for the Century Downs “Winners’ Zone” Championship Playoff round and earned 12 playoff points for his outstanding run. Ross Knight was right behind in second place, with Mark Sutherland, Kurt Bensmiller and Layne MacGillivray rounding out the top five. The 4 drivers in the playoff points standings after Saturday night will compete in the Century Downs “Winners’ Zone” Championship Dash where they will be racing for $50,000.00 cash, a horse trailer valued at over $30,000.00, and the prestige of being recognized as the inaugural Century Downs “Winners’ Zone” Champion.

For the 36 drivers who are racing for the Aggregate Championship at the Century Downs World Chuckwagon Finals, it was Roger Moore who was the fast man with a penalty free run of 1:23.16. In heat number 3 from barrel number 4, Moore, driving the PCL Construction Management Inc. outfit, established the WPCA track record at Century Downs Casino & Racetrack with a 1:23.16. That put him 19 one-hundredths of a second faster than former Calgary Stampede champion Chad Harden. Chanse Vigen, Ross Knight and Mark Sutherland rounded out the top five on opening night. The driver posting the best 4-day aggregate time after Saturday’s run will be declared the champion of the Century Downs race meet.

In the race for the World Chuckwagon Championship, Vern Nolin, in search of his first career World Chuckwagon Championship, came into the final show of the season with a slim 41-point lead over 3 time and reigning World Champion Kurt Bensmiller. After the completion of the first night of racing, Nolin’s lead is now just 22 points over Bensmiller. The World Champion Chuckwagon Driver will also be declared on Saturday evening.

Night 2 of the Century Downs Word Finals can be heard live on Thursday night on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147 Satellite Radio, Country 99 in Bonnyville, Real Country 910am, or on the WPCA Radio App, starting at 9:00pm Eastern, 8:00pm Central and 7:00pm Mountain Time.

Billy Melville

Century Downs “Winners’ Zone” Championship Playoff Standings
Rank Driver Playoff Points Total
1 Chanse Vigen 12
2 Ross Knight 11
3 Mark Sutherland 10
4 Kurt Bensmiller 9
5 Layne MacGillivray 8
6 Jordie Fike 7
7 Logan Gorst 6
8 Codey McCurrach 5
9 Kirk Sutherland 4
10 Cody Ridsdale 3
11 Luke Tournier 2
12 Vern Nolin 1
Note: Top 4 qualify for the Century Downs “Winners’ Zone” Championship Dash 
Day 1 Results 
Rank Driver Sponsor Total Time
1 Roger Moore PCL Construction Management Inc. 1:23.16
2 Chad Harden Tractorland – Alberta’s #1 Kubota Dealer 1:23.35
3 Chanse Vigen Crocodile Products Inc. 1:23.45
4 Ross Knight Chrome Diesel Repair 1:23.61
5 Mark Sutherland Friends of Sutherland Racing/Brand USA 1:23.71
6 Bob Van Eaton Nu Edge Construction Ltd. 1:23.84
7 Kurt Bensmiller Versatile Energy Services Ltd. 1:23.97
8 Evan Salmond West Land Livestock Inc. – Acme, AB 1:23.99
9 Troy Flad Ironwood Building Corp. 1:24.02
10 Layne MacGillivray Spray Lakes Sawmills 1:24.08
11 Jordie Fike Iconic Electric And Controls 1:24.11
12 Logan Gorst Chariot Express 1:24.27
13 Codey McCurrach TOMCO Group of Companies 1:24.28
14 Jason Glass Birchcliff Energy Ltd. 1:24.34
15 Kirk Sutherland Red Deer Motors 1:24.42
16 Dayton Sutherland Pacesetter Equipment Ltd. 1:24.45
17 Cody Ridsdale Irvine’s Saddles and Western Wear 1:24.58
18 Doug Irvine Silent-Aire 1:24.62
19 Luke Tournier The Angel’s Legacy Project 1:24.64
20 Dustin Gorst Entseel Industries Ltd. 1:24.66
21 Roy Romanow Irvine’s Saddles and Western Wear 1:24.87
22 Chad Fike La Maison Simons 1:24.88
23 Darcy Flad Kelts Transport 1:24.92
24 Chance Flad Aspen Crossing 1:24.95
25 Vern Nolin Crowbourne Capital Corp. 1:24.98
26 Wade Salmond Burnra Welding Ltd. 1:25.24
27 Layne Flad Kelts Transport 1:25.35
27 Obrey Motowylo Co-operators Insurance 1:25.35
29 Curtis Morin Lone Star Tack and Feed 1:25.66
30 Troy Dorchester Eldorado Pressure Services 1:25.80
31 Kelly Morin Oly’s Trading Post & Trucking 1:25.82
32 Mitch Sutherland Browns’ Chevrolet Buick GMC Ltd. 1:25.84
33 Josh Hrynyk Spider Electric Ltd. 1:25.90
34 Gary Gorst Genalta Power Inc. 1:25.94
35 John Walters Pidherney’s 1:26.18
36 Blaid Flad Pace Oilfield Hauling 1:32.62
* Kirk Sutherland drove for Mitch Sutherland.

Courtesy of the WPCA



Related Posts

Seven Canadians Within the Top 20 of the PRCA Standings
ATB Enters Three-Year Agreement as Presenting Sponsor of the Canadian Finals Rodeo
PBR Canada’s Elite Cup Series Debuts in Brandon, Manitoba on June 18

Leave a Reply