2019 Calgary Stampede GMC Rangeland Derby – Calgary, Alberta – Day One Results

Photo by Covy Moore/covymoore.com

Stampede 2019 kicked off on Friday night in Calgary with the 97th running of the Calgary Stampede GMC Rangeland Derby. It was a cool night for racing and running times were slower, but some great races were witnessed by a large opening night crowd. Kurt Bensmiller came into this year’s event as the defending champion, but upon the night’s conclusion, it was Chad Fike, driving La Maison Simons outfit, who opened up Stampede 2019 with the top time of 1:18.06.

Coming off barrel number 4 in the 3rd heat, Fike won the day money by just 25 one-hundredths of a second over Chance Bensmiller.  Defending champion Kurt Bensmiller grabbed third place on the night with Vern Nolin and rookie driver Danny Ringuette rounding out the top five on opening night.Its the first time Chad Fike has won day money at the Calgary Stampede.

The Richard Cosgrave Memorial Trophy, symbolic of the Calgary Stampede aggregate winner will be declared after 8 nights on Friday, July 12, and the top 8 in the aggregate on that day will go into “Semi Final Saturday.” The top 4 times from the two semi-final heats on semi on Saturday on July 13 will go into the championship final heat. The winner of the championship final heat will be declared the 2019 Calgary Stampede GMC Rangeland Derby Champion.

Live coverage of day 2 of the 2019 GMC Rangeland Derby can be heard starting at 7:30 on Saturday, July 6, 2019 on Rural Radio on SiriusXM Channel 147 Satellite Radio, Country 99 in Bonnyville, Real Country 910am and AM 700 The Light out of Calgary. Television coverage can be seen live on CBC and Sportsnet One all ten nights starting at 8:00pm.

Billy Melville

Day 1 Results 
Rank Driver Sponsor Total Time
1 Chad Fike La Maison Simons 1:18.06
2 Chance Bensmiller Western Refrigeration & Beverage Equipment Ltd. 1:18.31
3 Kurt Bensmiller Versatile Energy Services Ltd. 1:18.32
4 Vern Nolin Dentons Canada LLP 1:18.41
5 Danny Ringuette United We Roll for Canada/National Motor Coach 1:18.62
6 Logan Gorst Century Downs Racetrack and Casino 1:19.17
7 Todd Baptiste Friends of the Brakemen – Tequila Bandistas 1:19.58
8 Ross Knight Team Cowboys Casino 1:19.79
9 Obrey Motowylo League Projects 1:20.13
10 Luke Tournier MobSquad 1:20.26
11 Evan Salmond R.B. Somerville Utilities 1:20.28
12 Jason Glass Birchcliff Energy Ltd. 1:20.44
13 Chad Harden Spartan Controls 1:20.70
14 Darcy Flad PBR/Ridepass 1:20.79
15 John Walters Shaw GMC Chevrolet Buick 1:20.81
16 B.J. Carey Marvel Cabinetry & Renovations 1:20.82
17 Troy Dorchester Graham Construction & Engineering Inc. 1:21.03
18 Curtis Morin Western Sports Foundation/PBR 1:21.04
19 Cody Ridsdale The CanWagon & Kobold Completions 1:21.07
20 Roger Moore Western Electrical Management 1:21.20
21 Codey McCurrach iON United and SPLUNK 1:21.32
22 Mitch Sutherland York Realty 1:21.38
23 Layne MacGillivray Spray Lake Sawmills 1:21.40
24 Chanse Vigen The Mavericks – Business Development Bank of Canada 1:21.89
25 Ray Mitsuing Border Tribal Council 1:22.58
26 Dustin Gorst BD&P Put the Boots to Hunger 1:23.04
27 Jordie Fike The Brakemen Foundation – Zero Hungry Kids 1:23.77
28 Doug Irvine B & R Eckel’s Transport Ltd. 1:24.71
29 Kris Molle The Mavericks – Stratus Electrical & Instrumentation Ltd. 1:24.72
30 Gary Gorst Painted Pony Energy Ltd. 1:24.73
31 Kirk Sutherland Ghostpine Environmental Services Ltd. 1:25.06
32 Barry Hodgson West Industrial Ltd. 1:25.92
33 Mark Sutherland Friends of Sutherland Racing/Brand USA 1:26.03
34 Jamie Laboucane The Mavericks – ENECON Alberta 1:30.17
35 Kris Flanagan The Legends – Danielle Di Marco – MortgageLine 1:30.27
36 Dallas Dyck United Rentals Inc. 1:34.67

*Courtesy of the WPCA



Leave a Reply