Not Quiet on the Northern Front

No Place like Home

By Keith Ryan Cartwright

If you are wanting to know some more about this weekend’s PBR Canadian Title Contender Dusty Ephrom, you need to read this article:

Not Quiet on the Northern Front

Read More:


By, Keith Ryan Cartwright

For the fourth year in a row, Aaron Roy earned more money in the PBR than any other Canadian.

But the four-time Glen Keeley Award winner won’t claim his third Canadian national title next week at the 2011 PBR Canadian Finals.

Roy, the only Canadian in PBR history to qualify for four consecutive Built Ford Tough Championship Rounds at the World Finals, earned nearly $174,000 this year. However, the 24-year-old competed in fewer Canadian events than in years past, and will enter the Nov. 18 and 19 event ranked seventh.

He’s 3,113.5 points off the pace set by Tyler Thomson, and with just 1,500 points available next week, the national title race comes down to Thomson, Zane Lambert and Dusty Ephrom.

The Canadian National Finals are being held in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, at the Credit Union Centre. Details, including ticket information, can be found here.

Thomson is vying for his first national title. Last year, Roy passed him at the Finals.

With just 1,500 points available next week, the national title race comes down to Thomson, Zane Lambert and Dusty Ephrom.

Past Canadian champs include Roy (2010, 2008), Beau Hill (2009), Tyler Pankewitz (2007) and Scott Schiffner (2006).

Lambert and Ephrom have made late-season surges to seriously challenge Thomson for this year’s national title. Lambert has finished in the average at the past five Cup events in Canada, while Ephrom has done the same at three of the past five.

They trail Thomson by 980 and 1,230.5 points, respectively.

All three contenders balanced the later portions of their schedules by competing not only in Canada, but on the Built Ford Tough Series.

Thomson and Lambert rode in four BFTS events – career highs for both – and Ephrom spent the better part of 2011 in the U.S. competing at 11 BFTS events and numerous Touring Pro Division events.

Ephrom recorded three Top 10 finishes against the Top 40 riders in the world, with his best finish coming in Seattle, where he was eighth in the average.

In addition to the Top 3 contenders, the Canadian Finals will also feature Ty Pozzobon, who challenged for the PBR Rookie of the Year title until missing substantial time with an injury.

Joining Pozzobon are Chad Besplug, Jesse Torkelson, Tanner Girletz and Pankewitz, along with veterans Vince Northrop and Schiffner.

Highlighting the list the non-Canadian qualifiers are Ryan Dirteater and Sean Willingham, along with Reese Cates, Matt Bohon, Harve Stewart, Josh Faircloth, Jared Farley and Hill.

Canadian officials also extended



Related Posts

Cowboy Sh!t – The Podcast
Rider Qualifiers Announced for PBR’s 30th Anniversary World Finals in Fort Worth, Texas, as Intense Race to be Crowned the 2023 World Champion Winds to a Climactic End

Leave a Reply