Mexico’s Ramirez Earns Dakota Dunes Title

SASKATOON, Saskatchewan — Mexico’s Rosendo Ramirez came away with the win at the 2014 Dakota Dunes Casino VIP PBR Invitational held on August 13.  Ramirez rode Vold’s Torch Head to an 86 which was enough to secure him the Dakota Dunes Casino Trophy and $2,483.55 in prize money.

This is the first PBR win here in Canada for Ramirez who is a native of Mexico that’s lived in the United States prior to moving north yet again.

Coming into Saskatoon Ramirez sat 88th in the PBR Canadian Standings. This win should move him up into the top 60 not counting what he did last week. A ride on Vertigo from Battle River would have earned him some more money and much needed points. Kurt Shephard was the only man to qualify in the final round.


Jesse Flett took Pop Rocks from Craig & Ken Stevens to a second best 83.5 worth $1,800.


Zane Lambert kept up his winning ways with an 82.5 on Always Suspect from Vold Rodeo for just under $1,000.


Cawl Braithwaite tied that score of 82.5 on Frozen from the R-Saga Ranch as the first man on the board for the night kicking things off right.


Kurt Shephard’s ride of 80.5 on Rude Boy from Battle River in the short go earned him all the marbles there which was good as he would have only earned fifth place in the aggregate otherwise.


Bull of the Night went to Billy The Kid from Craig and Ken Stevens while piling up Ben Turner.



Next up on the 3D Bull Riding Tour for 2014 is the final event of the year where one bull rider will win an all expenses paid trip to the Built Ford Tough Series event in New York City. That event is the Curtis Leschyshyn  Invitational in Langham, SK on August 23rd!


Unofficial results from the Dakota Dunes Casino VIP PBR Invitational in Saskatoon, SK on August 13th, 2014.

Long Go: 1. Rosendo Ramirez on Vold Rodeo’s Torch Head, 86 points, $497.40; 2. Jesse Flett, 83.5, $359.55; 3. (tie) Zane Lambert and Cawl Braithwaite, 82.5, $179.77 each; 5. Budd Williamson, 76.5; no other qualified rides.

Short Go: 1. Kurt Shephard on Battle River’s Rude Boy, 80.5 points, $1,198.50; no other qualified rides.

Aggregate and Total Money Won: 1. Rosendo Ramirez, 86 on one bull, $2,483.55; 2. Jesse Flett, 83.5/1, $1,804.40; 3. (tie) Cawl Braithwaite and Zane Lambert, 82.5/1, $925.49; 5. Kurt Shephard, 80.5/1, $1,580.68; 6. Budd Williamson, 76.5/1, $270.32.



Related Posts

Rider Qualifiers Announced for PBR’s 30th Anniversary World Finals in Fort Worth, Texas, as Intense Race to be Crowned the 2023 World Champion Winds to a Climactic End
Seven Canadians Within the Top 20 of the PRCA Standings

Leave a Reply