Earl Bascom and the PBR Canadian Finals Qualifiers

Earl Bascom: The Father of Modern Rodeo 

Cowboy, inventor, craftsman and artist helped shape chutes, saddles, bareback riggings and chaps still used in modern-day rodeo.


I would sure like to hear what you learned from this article. I learned all about how the bronc saddle became what it is today. What did you learn from it?

PBR Announces 35 Qualifiers for the 2011 Canadian Finals


By. Cristy Atwood

PUEBLO, Colo. – The Professional Bull Riders on Monday announced the 30 riders who have qualified for the 2011 Canadian Finals on Nov. 18-19 at the Credit Union Centre in Saskatoon. Riders qualify for the Canadian Finals based on dollars earned throughout the season on the Canadian Cup Series, the Canadian Touring Pro Division (PBR Canada’s developmental league), and PBR events in United States, Australia, Brazil and Mexico. In addition to the 30 highest money earners, five top-ranked international invitees from the PBR world standings will also head to Saskatoon.

The 2011 PBR Canadian Champion will be crowned on Nov. 19, receiving the coveted Canadian Champion buckle and for the first time ever, a $10,000 National Champion bonus cheque. The Canadian Finals boasts a total purse of over $80 thousand.

The Canadian Champion will be the rider with the most points accumulated during the regular season and the Canadian Finals. There are a potential 1,500 points available at the Canadian Finals with Tyler Thomson (Black Diamond, AB) leading the pack at 7206 points. Still in contention for the Canadian title is Zane Lambert (Westbourne, MB) and Dusty Ephrom who trail Thompson by 980 and 1,230.5 points respectively.

Both Ephrom and Lambert spent the latter part of the year filling their schedules by competing in Canada and on the nationally televised Built Ford Tough Series.

In addition to the top 3 contenders, the qualifiers include four former Canadian National Champions: Beau Hill of West Glacier, MT, USA (2009); Aaron Roy of Yellow Grass, SK (2008); Tyler Pankewitz of Warburg, AB (2007), and Scott Schiffner of Strathmore, AB (2006). Several non-Canadians also qualified for the Finals including Georgia cowboy Sean Willingham, Arkansas’ Reese Cates, and Texas’ Harve Stewart.

At the top of the invites list are Jordan Hupp, 2004 World Champion Mike Lee, Iron Cowboy Colby Yates, Missouri Cowboy Luke Snyder, and fan favorite Ben Jones.

The PBR also announced the one alternate for the Canadian Finals, who will be allowed to compete if riders seeded in the Top 35 cannot. The alternate for this event will be Vince Northrop of Norquay, SK.

The Finals consists of three rounds of competition. Round 1 begins Friday, Nov. 18, followed by Round 2 and the Championship Round on Saturday, Nov. 19. The first two rounds feature all 35 qualified riders. The scores from those two rounds will be combined, and the Top 15 riders will advance to the Championship Round. The rider with the most points accumulated during the regular season and the Finals will be crowned the 2011 PBR Canadian National Champion.

For more information on the World Finals, please visit www.pbrCanada.com.

Canadian Finals Qualifiers (Money Earned)

Aaron Roy Yellow Grass, SK
Tyler Thomson Black Diamond, AB
Zane Lambert Westbourne, MB
Ty Pozzobon Merritt, BC
Dusty Ephrom Kenosee Lake, SK
Ty Patten Buck Lake, AB
Chad Besplug Claresholm, AB
Tanner Byrne Prince Albert, SK
Jesse Torkelson Warburg, AB
Matt Triplett Columbia Falls, MT
Josh Faircloth Randleman, NC
Brett Hanrahan Rockley, NSW
Stetson Lawrence Williston, ND
Reese Cates El Dorado, AZ
Aaron Gibb Hill Spring, AB
Matt Bohon Cole Camp, MO
Harve Stewart Stephenville, TX
Budd Williamson Ayr QLD, AUS
Josh Ehlers New Rockford, ND
Jeston Mead Garden City, KS
Tanner Girletz Cereal, AB
Tyler Pankewitz Warburg, AB
Jory Markiss Longmont, CO
Beau Brooks Cochrane, AB
Scott Shiffner Strathmore, AB
Beau Hill West Glacier, MT
Brian Hervey Brant, AB
Sean Willingham Summerville, GA
Jared Farley Kempsey, NSW
Cody Ford Hermiston, OR
Mike Lee Decatur, TX
Luke Snyder Raymore, MO
Jordan Hupp Cheyenne, WY
Ben Jones New South Wales, AUS
Colby Yates Fort Worth, TX
Vince Northrop Norquay, SK (Alternate)



Related Posts

Cowboy Sh!t – The Podcast
Rider Qualifiers Announced for PBR’s 30th Anniversary World Finals in Fort Worth, Texas, as Intense Race to be Crowned the 2023 World Champion Winds to a Climactic End
Seven Canadians Within the Top 20 of the PRCA Standings

Leave a Reply