Pozzobon Leads Team Canada with Wrangler NFR Win

Carman Pozzobon. PRCA photo by Phil Doyle. 

LAS VEGAS, Nevada — Appearing in her first Wrangler NFR, Carman Pozzobon didn’t hold anything back.

With a three-second lead in the aggregate heading into the final round, all she needed was a clean run to lock in the win and pocket $67,269. Instead, she threw down her fastest time of the week, a 13.68 to win third in the round for another $15,654.

On the week she brings home $117,885 USD and the No. 4 lady in the WPRA World Standings after coming in No. 15. Leaving Las Vegas, her season tally tops $204,831. Pozzobon is only the second Canadian to win the WNFR aggregate title with the last being Lindsay Sears in 2011.

In total, Canadian contestants raked in $580,807 USD including $60,000 in qualifier earnings. In addition $428,014 USD was earned on Canadian bucking horses and bulls.

Former World Champion Zeke Thurston was Canada’s top earned in Sin City however he came up short on Saturday being bucked off New West Rodeo Productions Pikuni Cougar. Despite the buckoff, he finished third in the aggregate, for $43,154, moving his WNFR total to $149,404 and season earnings to $262,041 for a third-best finish in the world. Thurston’s buck off cost him his second gold buckle as he finished less than $18,000 world champion Wade Sundell.

Two-time and reigning Canadian Champion Clay Elliott finished seventh in the aggregate to claim $44,692 on the week and finish 10th in the world with $148,868 on the season.

Curtis Cassidy missed his steer in round 10 ending up fourth in the world with $188,355 on the year thanks to $82,346 earned here in Las Vegas. Scott Guenthner picked up seventh in the aggregate for $11,423 bringing his winnings at his second WNFR to $94,403 and season total to $186,727 for the No. 5 spot on the planet. Tyler Waguespack ran the table winning both the world and aggregate title.

Rounding out Team Canada’s efforts at the 60th Wrangler NFR was Manitoba’s Orin Larsen who earned $92,077, adding an extra $6,346 for eighth in the aggregate. He ends the season No. 8 with $222,732 on the year.

2018 PRCA World Champions and WNFR Aggregate Winners

Bareback – Tim O’Connell

WNFR – Steven Dent and Tim O’Connell

Steer Wrestling – Tyler Waguespack

WNFR – Tyler Waguespack

Team Roping – Clay Smith and Paul Eaves

WNFR – Aason Tsininge and Trey Yates

Saddle bronc – Wade Sundell

WNFR – Coburn Bradshaw

Tie-down roping – Caleb Smidt

WNFR – Caleb Smidt

Barrel Racing – Hailey Kinsel

WNFR – Carman Pozzobon

Bull Riding – Sage Kimzey

WNFR – Chase Dougherty




Related Posts

Cowboy Sh!t – The Podcast
Nick Tetz Crowned 2022 PBR Canada Champion

Leave a Reply