Buckle up, the 2023 Stampede Rodeo is bigger and better than ever

Calgary – Get ready to hold your breath for 8 seconds straight – over and over again – as the best rodeo athletes in the world descend on GMC Stadium for Stampede 2023.

New for this year’s Stampede, an expanded format will feature 30 of the top athletes in each event, broken into three hotly contested pools. The top four athletes in each pool will advance to Showdown Sunday, earning the chance to take a run at the Championship!

“We’re excited to continue to grow The World’s Largest Outdoor Rodeo, expanding to 30 contestants in each event for the 2023 Stampede Rodeo,” says Kristina Barnes, Manager of Agriculture & Western Events for the Calgary Stampede. “The Calgary Stampede traditionally attracts the best-of-the-best when it comes to competitors, and this year we’re thrilled to showcase even more of the biggest and best names in the sport.”

The Calgary Stampede is proud to announce the full lineup of athletes who have been invited to compete over 10 action packed days for a shot at becoming 2023 Calgary Stampede Champions.

From multi-event superstar Stetson Wright competing in both Saddle Bronc and Bull Riding, to local sister duo Kylie and Bradi Whiteside racing for family bragging rights and big money in Barrel Racing – the field is packed with the biggest and best names in the sport of Rodeo.

The Whitesides aren’t the only athletes keeping it in the family. The Saddle Bronc event sees Alberta’s Logan Hay, the 2022 Champ, once again joined in the event by brother Dawson. Stetson Wright will be hoping for an all-family final four where he can go head-to-head with his brothers Ryder and Statler, as well as their uncle Spencer Wright.

Bull Riding should be a less contentious topic of conversation for the Wright family, but Stetson is in for steep competition with a field that includes seven-time World Champion, Sage Kimzey, Kimzey’s brother Trey, reigning Canadian Champion Jared Parsonage and 2022 Stampede co-Champion, Dakota Buttar.

Control, attention to detail and close partnership between horse and rider will be key when Barrel Racing takes center stage. Kassie Mowry has the time to beat as the reigning Stampede Champion and current record holder for the fastest time. She’ll be joined by four-time World Champion Hailey Kinsel and Alberta native, Nancy Leischner. Leischner and her horse Trooper recently earned a spot through the 2023 Calgary Stampede Barrel Racing qualifier.

A stacked slate of Steer Wrestlers includes current World Champion Tyler Waguespack and 2022 Stampede Champion Will Lummus. In the Tie Down Roping, 2022 Calgary Stampede Champion Caleb Smidt will have to be fast if he wants to make it two in a row, while three-time Stampede Champion Cory Solomon will be working towards his fourth title.

Competition in the Bareback Riding doesn’t feature any sibling pairs, but it won’t lack for big rides and big scores. The talented field includes six-time World Champion Kaycee Feild, reigning World Champ Jess Pope, and 2022 Stampede Champion Rocker Steiner. Matched up with the best broncs in the business, every ride is sure to have you on the edge of your seat!

Beginning daily at 1:30 p.m., the 2023 Stampede Rodeo is a must-see Stampede experience. Tickets for the Rodeo are now available and include admission to Stampede Park on the day of the event. For the best seats in the house, visit CalgaryStampde.com/tickets.

The Stampede Rodeo is also broadcast daily at 1:30 p.m. MT in Canada on Rogers Sportsnet One and livestreamed on Sportsnet Now. Viewers in the United States can watch live daily on The Cowboy Channel, with the livestream on Cowboy Channel Plus. The Cowboys Rangeland Derby can also be viewed each night beginning at 8:30 p.m. MT on Rogers Sportsnet One and livestreamed on Sportsnet Now.

Bareback Riding – Presented by: Bennett Jones
Tanner Aus
Caleb  Bennett
Leighton Berry
Clayton Biglow
Ty Breuer
Taylor Broussard
Richmond Champion
Mason Clements
Cooper Cooke
Kaycee Feild
Cole Franks
Jacek Frost
Cole Goodine
RC Landingham
Orin Larsen
Clint Laye
Jacob Lees
Bradlee Miller
Tim O’Connell
Sam Petersen
Jess Pope
Cole Reiner
Jayco Roper
Chad Rutherford
Garrett Shadbolt
Kade Sonnier
Rocker Steiner
Ty Taypotat
Dean Thompson
Luke Thrash

Barrel Racing – Presented by: Calgary Herald
Kelly Allen
Emily Beisel
Jordon Briggs
Bayleigh Choate
Margo Crowther
Jackie Ganter
Sydney Graham
Stevi Hillman
Wenda Johnson
Hailey Kinsel
Summer Kosel
Nancy Leischner
Lisa Lockhart
Taylor Manning
Megan McLeod-Sprague
Shelley Morgan
Kassie Mowry
Molly Otto
Liz Pinkston
Brittany Pozzi Tonozzi
Jessica Routier
Dona Kay Rule
Leslie Smalygo
Jimmie Smith
Shelby Spielman
Brittney Sporer
Bradi Whiteside
Kylie Whiteside
Sara Winkelman
Sissy Winn

Tie Down Roping – Presented by: Halliburton
Beau Cooper
Tuf Cooper
Marcos Costa
Blane Cox
John Douch
Cash Enderli
Trevor Hale
Shane Hanchey
Ty Harris
Kincade Henry
Hunter Herrin
Westyn Hughes
Zack Jongbloed
Lane Livingston
Kyle Lucas
Shad Mayfield
Haven Meged
Tyler Milligan
Brushton Minton
Macon Murphy
Michael Otero
Riley Pruitt
Matt Shiozawa
Caleb Smidt
Clayton Smith
Justin Smith
Cory Solomon
Riley Warren
Riley Webb
Marty Yates

Saddle Bronc Riding – Presented by: Cenovus Energy
Ben Andersen
Kole Ashbacher
Damian Brennan
Chase Brooks
Houston Brown
Tanner Butner
Wyatt Casper
Logan Cook
Jacobs Crawley
Brody Cress
Isaac Diaz
Parker Fleet
Leon Fountain
Shorty Garrett
Layton Green
Ross Griffin
Dawson Hay
Logan Hay
Lefty Holman
Sage Newman
Ryder Sanford
Quinten Taylor
Zeke Thurston
Kolby Wanchuk
Brody Wells
Cash Wilson
Ryder  Wright
Spencer Wright
Statler Wright
Stetson Wright

Steer Wrestling – Presented by: Plains
Tucker Allen
Bridger Anderson
Stan Branco
Jesse Brown
Tanner Brunner
Curtis Cassidy
Stephen Culling
Hunter Cure
Cody Devers
Dakota Eldridge
Ty Erickson
Stockton Graves
Scott Guenthner
Nick Guy
Josh Hefner
Kyle Irwin
Stetson Jorgensen
Eli Lord
Will Lummus
Tristan Martin
Dalton Massey
Tanner Milan
Rowdy Parrott
Cash Robb
Timmy Sparing
JD Struxness
Jacob Talley
Dirk Tavenner
Tyler Waguespack
Jonny Webb

Bull Riding – Presented by: WestJet 
Silvano Alves
Jeff Askey
Trey Benton III
Dakota Buttar
Cooper Davis
Josh Frost
Wyatt Gleeson
Ky Hamilton
Jordan Hansen
Trey Holston
Tristen Hutchings
Sage Kimzey
Trey Kimzey
JB Mauney
Lukasey Morris
JC Mortensen
Tristan Parker
Jared Parsonage
Maverick Potter
Koby Radley
Trevor Reiste
Coy Robbins
Chance Schott
Garrett Smith
Daylon Swearingen
Cody Teel
Cullen Telfer
Jestyn Woodward
Stetson Wright
Creek Young

About the Calgary Stampede
The Calgary Stampede celebrates the people, the animals, the land, the traditions and the values that make up the unique spirit of the west. The Calgary Stampede contributes to the quality of life in Calgary and southern Alberta through our world-renowned Stampede, year-round facilities, western events and several youth and agriculture programs. Exemplifying the theme We’re Greatest Together, we are a volunteer-supported, not-for-profit community organization that preserves and celebrates our western heritage, cultures and community spirit. All revenue is reinvested into Calgary Stampede programs and facilities.

For more information, please contact:
Shannon Greer                                                  
Manager, Communications & Media Relations
Calgary Stampede                                              



Leave a Reply