2023 Grande Prairie Stompede Final Results

GRANDE PRAIRIE, AB — Track conditions were the best of the week and the finals of the Grande Prairie Stompede Championship were run under partly cloudy skies, a little bit of wind, and a warm 18°C. It was a popular Championship Final Heat with all four drivers posting show wins in 2022 featuring Chanse Vigen, Kurt Bensmiller, Rae Croteau Jr. and Ross Knight filling out the championship final. When the dust settled, and in one of the most impressive single runs ever in a Championship Final Heat, it was Chanse Vigen, driving the Sundown Oilfield Services Ltd. outfit, and along with outriders Rory Armstrong, Ryan MacNeill and Ethan Motowylo, who despite  a two-second penalty for creating a false start, captured the 2023 Grande Prairie Stompede Championship. Coming off barrel number four, Vigen – who was responsible for creating a false start, and had a two-second penalty hanging over him before the race officially began – captured the Grande Prairie Stompede Championship with a total time of 1:16.27, 2.53 seconds faster than Kurt Bensmiller who placed second in the heat from barrel number one. Ross Knight ended up in third place overall from barrel three, while Rae Croteau Jr., who actually crossed the finish line in second place, but a five second knocked barrel penalty pushed him down to fourth place overall from barrel number two. Vigen’s run in Sunday’s final was more than two full seconds faster than his nearest competitor’s running time, making it arguably the most dominating single run in a championship final in chuckwagon racing’s history. It’s the first time Chanse Vigen has won the Grande Prairie Championship.

As far as the day results are concerned, Obrey Motowylo’s Dynamic Energy Group Inc. outfit cashed was best on the night with a 1:16.05.  2023 Grande Prairie Champion Chanse Vigen, even with the two second penalty placed second on the night followed by Layne MacGillivray, Evan Salmond and Troy Dorchester composing the top five runs of the night. All eleven heats on Sunday were dash for cash situations.

The WPCA Pro Tour will embark on Bonnyville, Alberta for the Bonnyville Chuckwagon Championship that will run from June 8-11, 2023. Live coverage from Bonnyville on Real Country 910 starting on Thursday night at 7:00pm Mountain Time. As well, fans can watch the races live on the watch.wpca.com streaming platform.

2023 Grande Prairie Stompede Champions
Sundown Oilfield Services Ltd.
Chanse Vigen – Driver
Rory Armstrong, Ryan “Mad Dog” MacNeill, Ethan Motowylo – Outriders
$35,000.00 Championship Final Heat (By Barrel Selection)Total Time
1Kurt BensmillerHalf a Dime Contracting/Summit Fleet1:18.80
2Rae Croteau Jr.Cinch Oilfield Hauling Ltd.1:21.74
3Ross KnightThe Outrider Posse1:19.72
4Chanse VigenSundown Oilfield Services Ltd.1:16.27
Ralph Vigen Memorial Award (Best 4 Day Aggregate) – 5:11.72
Sundown Oilfield Services Ltd.
Chanse Vigen – Driver
Rory Armstrong, Ryan “Mad Dog” MacNeill – Outriders
Day 5 Results
RankDriverSponsorTotal Time
1Obrey MotowyloDynamic Energy Group Inc.1:16.05
2Chanse VigenSundown Oilfield Services Ltd.1:16.27
3Layne MacGillivrayCascade Energy Services1:16.77
4Evan SalmondDe Havilland Aircraft of Canada Ltd.1:16.89
5Troy DorchesterZedcor Energy Services Corp.1:17.78
6Kris MolleFarm Boys Oilfield Services Inc.1:18.12
7Jason GlassBirchcliff Energy Ltd.1:18.43
8Layne FladKeddie’s Tack and Western Wear1:18.51
9Wade SalmondPidherney’s1:18.53
10Kelly MorinMorin’Ever1:18.75
11Kurt BensmillerHalf a Dime Contracting1:18.80
12Jamie TomPrime Towing & Recovery1:19.13
13Darcy FladSniper Servies1:19.14
14Tuff DregerCompass Access Solutions Ltd.1:19.20
15Mark SutherlandNordic Energy Canada Corp.1:19.52
16D.J. KingSwamp Donkey Oilfield Services Inc.1:19.71
17Ross KnightThe Outrider Posse1:19.72
18Jamie LaboucaneWild Rows Pump & Compression Ltd.1:19.79
19Derek AeblyFriends of Aebly Racing1:19.90
20Mitch SutherlandCDN Controls Ltd.1:20.01
21Chad FikeKen Sargent GMC Buick Ltd.1:20.12
22Roger MooreEnvolve Energy Services Corp.1:20.14
23Chance BensmillerPinnacle Picker Services Ltd.1:20.15
24Evan MageeFluidPRO Oilfield Services Ltd.1:20.20
25Dustin GorstGrande Prairie Airport1:20.32
26Brad McMannCIMS Corp1:20.40
27Logan GorstNorthstar Hydrovac1:20.55
28Chance ThomsonHills Vac & Steam Services Ltd.1:20.57
29Dean DregerNorthern Mat & Bridge1:20.85
30Cody RidsdaleJDA Oilfield Hauling & Cranes1:20.93
31Josh HrynykTriple B Crane Ltd.1:20.96
32Doug IrvineSwab Pro (2018) Ltd.1:21.08
33Dayton SutherlandManitoulan Transport; delivering a world of opportunities1:21.10
34Todd McCrackenCLHbid.com1:21.17
35Jordie FikeFull Force Ventures Ltd.1:21.40
36Chance FladControl Tech1:21.65
37Rae Croteau Jr.Cinch Oilfield Hauling Ltd.1:21.74
38Troy FladMr. Fireplace1:21.90
39Codey McCurrachFriends of McCurracing1:22.21
40Cruise BensmillerPrairie Iron Rentals1:22.84
41Preston FaithfulM&H End Dump Services Ltd.1:23.25
42Kirk SutherlandHansen Ford1:24.08
43Vern NolinTriple Threat Diesel1:31.36
44Gage FladInvest Grande PrairieN.T



Leave a Reply