2022 PBR World Champion Daylon Swearingen Wins PBR Canada Cup Series Event in Regina, Saskatchewan

Perfect performance propels Swearingen into the Top 10 in the race for the 2022 PBR Canada Championship and accompanying $50,000 bonus

REGINA, Sask. – One month after being crowned the 2022 PBR (Professional Bull Riders) World Champion and part of a blockbuster trade that sent him to the Carolina Cowboys for the inaugural PBR Team Series season, Daylon Swearingen (Piffard, New York) brought his undeniable talents back to Canadian soil to ride at the first-ever Canadian Cup Series, presented by Wrangler, event in Regina, Saskatchewan. Compliments of a perfect 2-or-2 showing, the reigning PBR Canada Finals event winner won the tour stop inside Brandt Centre, victorious at the PBR Regina Classic.

In Round 1, Swearingen was awarded a re-ride after he was unable to leave the chutes aboard his initial draw Look At This Dude (Two Bit Bucking Bulls).

Undeterred, the young New York native was laser focused as he next readied to climb aboard Mogely (Lazy S Bucking Bulls). Swearingen was in perfect time with the animal athlete, reaching the requisite 8 for 85.5 points.

Swearingen advanced to the championship round second on the event leaderboard, creating the opportunity or him to draft a familiar foe in two-time, and reigning, PBR Canada Bull of the Year Happy Camper (Two Bit Bucking Bulls). 

In November 2021, Swearingen clinched his second career PBR Canada Finals event win after covering the “Bucking Sensation from the Two Bit Nation” for a commanding 91.5 points. The ride also marked the highest-scored trip on Canadian soil in 2021.

In Regina, after the two titans burst from the chute, Swearingen was pulled over top of the bull’s head, and the status of the ride went into review.

After the PBR Canada officials carefully examined the trip, Swearingen was not only confirmed to have reached the whistle but was awarded an event-best 89.5-point score to clinch the win.

Swearingen’s golden finish earned him 77 national points, catapulting him from unranked to No. 6 in the race for the 2022 PBR Canada Championship and accompanying $50,000 bonus. He now trails No. 1 Lonnie West (Cadogan, Alberta) by 60.5 points.

Should 2019 PBR Canada Champion Swearingen earn the Canadian title again in 2022 he would become just the fourth rider in history to win the honor multiple times, joining the likes of three-time title holder Aaron Roy (Yellow Grass, Saskatchewan) and two-time Champions Zane Lambert (Ponoka, Alberta) and Cody Coverchuk (Meadow Lake, Saskatchewan).

While West maintained his No. 1 position in the national standings, his four-out ride streak came to an end in Regina when he was bucked off by Howlin’ Wolf (Flying Four Bucking Bulls) in 3.06 seconds in Round 1.

West remains 11.5 points in front of No. 2 Blake Smith (Abbey, Saskatchewan), who went 0-for-2 at the PBR Regina Classic.

Second was Jared Parsonage (Maple Creek, Saskatchewan), collecting 58 national points.

The home province hopeful set the tone early for the event in Round 1, registering a score on the first out of the night as he teamed with Paulie Wallnutz (CS Bucking Bulls) for 83 points.

Parsonage punched his ticket to the championship round fourth in the aggregate, next opting to take on Langham Kid (Two Bit Bucking Bulls) as his final bovine athlete opponent.

In a decision which proved dividends, Parsonage dominated the Two Bit Bucking Bulls standout, marked 87.5 points to solidify his runner-up effort.

Seeking his first national title in 2022, Parsonage is now No. 5 in the Canadian standings, 57 points back of No. 1 West.

Logan Biever (Claresholm, Alberta) and Brock Radford (De Winton, Alberta) tied for third as the only other riders to be a flawless 2-for-2 at the PBR Regina Classic.

For Biever, he rode Buster (CS Bucking Bulls) for 79 points in Round 1 and 2020 PBR Canada Bull of the Year Catch My Drift (Two Bit Bucking Bulls/K Rose Ranch) for 85 points in the championship round.

The surging Albertan collected 33 national points to rise to No. 3 in the Canadian tile race. He inched within 50.5 points of the top spot.

Radford earned his scores aboard Legend of Tomorrow (CS Bucking Bulls) in the first round, marked 78 points, and Spooky Lukie (Two Bit Bucking Bulls) in the final round, awarded 86 points.

The newlywed netted 35 national points, spring boarding to No. 8 in the heated 2022 PBR Canada Championship race, 91.5 points back of No. 1 West.

Rounding out the Top 5 in fifth was Round 1 winner Callum Miller (Warwick, Queensland, Australia).

The rider from Down Under was unmatched in the opening round of action, riding Wood Chuck (X6 Ranch Bucking Cattle/Lazy S Bucking Bulls) for 88 points.

Finning Lil Shorty (Flying Four Bucking Bulls), however, proved too much for Miller, bringing the Aussie down in 5.74 seconds in the final trip of the evening.

In the bull pen, it was a four-way tie for the YETI “Built For the Wild” Bull of the Event honor. All posting 43.5-point scores, the award was split between Wood Chuck, Happy Camper, Trump Card (X6 Ranch Bucking Cattle/Lazy S Bucking Bulls) and Sure Shot (Skori Bucking Bulls).

The 2022 PBR Canada Sup Series, presented by Wrangler, will next travel to Kelowna, British Columbia, and Prospera Place for the second of two midweek events on Wednesday, July 20. Action for the PBR Okanagan Challenge will get underway at 7:00 p.m. PDT. 

Stay tuned in to PBRCanada.com and follow the tour on Facebook (PBR Canada), Twitter (@PBRCanada), and Instagram (@PBRCanada) for the latest results, news, stats and more.

PBR Canada Cup Series, presented by Wrangler
PBR Regina Classic
Brandt Centre – Regina, Saskatchewan
(Round 1-Round 2-Event Aggregate-Event Points)

  1. Daylon Swearingen, 85.5-89.5-175.00-77 Points.
  2. Jared Parsonage, 83-87.5-170.50-58 Points.
  3. Logan Biever, 79-85-164.00-33 Points.

(tie). Brock Radford, 78-86-164.00-35 Points.

  1. Callum Miller, 88-0-88.00-25 Points.
  2. Chad Hartman, 84-0-84.00-14 Points.
  3. Cody Coverchuk, 82-0-82.00-8 Points.
  4. Micheal Ostashek, 81.5-0-81.50-6 Points.

Lonnie West, 0-0-0.00

Blake Smith, 0-0-0.00

Aaron Roy, 0-0-0.00

Dawson Shannon, 0-0-0.00

Coy Robbins, 0-0-0.00

Zane Lambert, 0-0-0.00

Nick Tetz, 0-0-0.00

Marcos Gloria, 0-0-0.00

Ashton Sahli, 0-0-0.00

Tanner Eno, 0-0-0.00

Jordan Hansen, 0-0-0.00

Thor Hoefer II, 0-0-0.00

Brian Hervey, 0-0-0.00

Tyson Salmon, 0-0-0.00

Jake Maher, 0-0-0.00

Cauy Schmidt, 0-0-0.00


2022 PBR Canada Standings

(Place, Rider, Events, Wins, Top 5’s, Points, Total Winnings)

  1. Lonnie West, 6, 1, 3, 137.50, $11,900.59
  2. Blake Smith, 5, 3, 3, 126.00, $13,265.78
  3. Logan Biever, 8, 0, 3, 87.00, $6,832.50
  4. Jake Gardner, 2, 1, 1, 83.00, $7,612.00
  5. Jared Parsonage, 3, 0, 2, 80.50, $6,270.00
  6. Daylon Swearingen, 1, 1, 1, 77.00, $7,000.00
  7. Aaron Roy, 7, 0, 3, 65.00, $7,080.20
  8. Brock Radford, 5, 0, 2, 46.00, $4,165.43
  9. Dawson Shannon, 4, 0, 1, 45.00, $3,652.00
  10. Dakota Buttar, 6, 0, 3, 43.00, $5,605.04
  11. Callum Miller, 7, 0, 2, 40.00, $4,231.43
  12. Coy Robbins, 6, 1, 2, 36.50, $6,371.18
  13. Zane Lambert, 6, 0, 2, 34.50, $3,652.50
  14. Cody Coverchuk, 9, 0, 2, 31.00, $3,431.69
  15. Griffin Smeltzer, 4, 1, 2, 31.00, $4,626.08
  16. Nick Tetz, 7, 0, 2, 31.00, $5,379.44
  17. Micheal Ostashek, 6, 0, 2, 31.00, $2,694.16
  18. Marcos Gloria, 5, 1, 1, 27.00, $3,286.23
  19. Chad Hartman, 6, 0, 0, 19.00, $1,160.00
  20. Todd Chotowetz, 3, 0, 0, 17.50, $1,470.00
  21. Garrett Green, 5, 0, 1, 12.00, $1,663.37
  22. Ashton Sahli, 6, 0, 0, 3.00, $416.50
  23. Tanner Eno, 5, 0, 0, 1.50, $215.65



Leave a Reply