2020 PBR Canada Bull of the Year Contenders Announced Ahead of PBR Canada Monster Energy Tour Finals Week Nov. 5-7 in Grande Prairie, Alberta

Finning Lil Shorty, Happy Camper and Tykro Pound Sand Locked in Heated Battle for No. 1 Ranking.

Photo: Zane Lambert and Happy Camper at the Glen Keeley Memorial PBR. Photo by Covy Moore/CovyMoore.com

PUEBLO, Colo. (November 2, 2020) – Leading into 2020 PBR (Professional Bull Riders) Canada Monster Energy Tour Finals Week in Grande Prairie, Alberta, Nov. 5-7, the league has announced the Top 13 contenders for the coveted Bull of the Year honor.

Reigning PBR Canada Bull of the Finals Finning Lil Shorty, 2018 PBR Canada Bull of the Year Happy Camper and two-time PBR World Finals bucker Tykro Pound Sand enter the PBR Canada Monster Energy Tour Finals Week locked in an intense battle for the No. 1 ranking as the front-runners for the year-end title, with each animal athlete holding a 43.5-point regular-season average.

The 2020 PBR Canada Bull of the Year will be the animal athlete with the top average score when combining his Top 3 outs from the regular season and two trips from the four events that will comprise the season-culminating events held from Nov. 5-7 in Grande Prairie, Alberta, at Revolution Place.

In addition to receiving the coveted buckle, the Bull of the Year will also be presented with a $2,500 bonus.

Despite the abbreviated season, Flying Four Bucking Bulls’ Finning Lil Shorty delivered three head-turning trips in 2020. Improving each out, the bovine athlete began the season with a 43-point score in December at the Touring Pro Division stop in Lloydminster, Alberta.

Finning Lil Shorty next bucked at PBR Canada’s historic return to competition in July inside ENMAX Centre in Lethbridge, Alberta. Matched up with Garrett Green (Meeting Creek, Alberta), the two teamed for an event-winning 88-point score, as the 2019 PBR World Finals bucking bull was marked 43.5 points.

Concluding his regular-season on home turf for the Prince Albert, Saskatchewan Touring Pro Division event, Finning Lil Shorty again propelled a rider to victory, erupting for a season-high 44 points when covered by Lonnie West (Cadogan, Alberta) for a Tanner Byrne Invitational-winning 89.5 points.

Happy Camper, a striking brown bovine, will be seeking history at the sport’s Canadian title event, attempting to become the first two-time PBR Canada Bull of the Year in league history Nov. 5-7 in Grande Prairie.

The 2018 PBR Canada Bull of the Year and three-time PBR World Finals selection bucked four times across all levels of competition in 2020.

Regarded as “the Bucking Sensation from the Two Bit Nation,” Happy Camper began the unprecedented season with a 43-point trip with Jared Parsonage (Maple Creek, Saskatchewan) at the season-launch Monster Energy Tour event in Calgary in January, as the stoic cowboy reached the 8-second whistle for 88 points.

Happy Camper then posted a 43.5-point score in Lethbridge before delivering his best trip of the year at September’s Touring Pro Division event in Ponoka, Alberta, a 44-point score compliments of his 6.78-second buckoff of Dayton Johnston (Milk River, Alberta).

Tykro Pound Sand, a bull known for propelling riders to victory, including reigning PBR Canada Champion Daylon Swearingen, will be seeking glory of his own in Grande Prairie, attempting to earn his career-first Bull of the Year title.

The powerful black and white bull is one of only a few Canadian bovines to have been selected to compete in the United States in 2020, bucking twice at the final regular-season Unleash The Beast event of the year in Nampa, Idaho.

In his home nation, where he bucked five times across all levels of competition, Tykro Pound Sand was twice marked a head-turning 44 points, both elevating Canadian No. 1 Dakota Buttar (Kindersley, Saskatchewan) to event wins.

The two first teamed for an 87.5-point score at the January Monster Energy Tour event in Calgary, before Buttar again reached the requisite 8 aboard the Wild Hoggs’ bull for a monstrous 90.5 points in Stavely, Alberta to win the prestigious Glen Keeley Memorial.

The complete list of contenders for this year’s PBR Canada Bull of the Year honor are:

No. 1 (tie) Finning Lil Shorty (Flying Four Bucking Bulls) – 43.5 points

Happy Camper (Two Bit Bucking Bulls) – 43.5 points

Tykro Pound Sand (Wild Hoggs/Corey Chmelnyk) – 43.5 points

No. 4 Catch My Drift (Two Bit Bucking Bulls/K Rose Ranch) – 43.33 points (-0.17)

No. 5 Grey Tower III (Vold Rodeo) – 43.16 points (-0.34)

No. 6 Finning Drop Bear (Flying Four Bucking Bulls) – 43 points (-0.5)

No. 7 (tie) Tom Petty (Skori Bucking Bulls) – 42.83 points (-0.67)

Spooky Lukie (Two Bit Bucking Bulls) – 42.83 points (-0.67)

Stuntman Hank (Wild Hoggs Bucking Bulls) – 42.83 points (-0.67)

No. 10. Finning Twitch (Flying Four Bucking Bulls) – 42.66 points (-0.84)

No. 11 (tie) Timber Jam (Vold Rodeo) – 42.5 points (-1.00)

Blow Me Away (Vold Rodeo) – 42.5 points (-1.00)

VJV Whiskey Hand (Vold Rodeo) – 42.5 points (-1.00)


In a unique format, the 2020 PBR Canada Finals will be comprised of four events.


  • The season-culminating weekend will get underway with the PBR Shell Rotella Challenge on Thursday, November 5 at 7:00 p.m.MT. All 25 riders will compete in Round 1, with the Top 10 advancing to the championship round.
  • On Friday, November 6 at 7:00 p.m.MT, the PBR Wrangler Chute Out will be held at Revolution Place, again featuring all 25 enter riders in Round 1, followed by the Top 10 riders competing in the championship round.
  • For the final day of the 2020 PBR Canada Finals on Saturday, November 7, event goers in Grande Prairie, and viewers around the world on RidePass and TSN will witness a double-header.
    • The evening’s events will begin with 25-rider PBR Cooper Tires Classic at 7:00 p.m. MT. Featuring one round, the event winner will be the high-marked rider of the event.
    • Following the PBR Cooper Tires Classic, the Top 15 riders in the national standings will advance to the final event of the 2020 season, the PBR Built Ford Tough Championship. In the season-culminating event, the 15 qualifying riders will face one final bull in an effort to be crowned the 2020 PBR Canada Champion.


The three-day, four-event 2020 PBR Canada Finals will be broadcast LIVE nightly on RidePass, available at RidePass.com or via the RidePass app available on iOS, Android and Roku. The TSN family of networks will also broadcast the event, stay tuned to PBRCanada.com for your local listings.


The 2020 slate of events marks the fifth season for the Monster Energy Tour as a unified competitive series traveling across the country. All future PBR Canada events are subject to change given the evolving regulations regarding the COVID-19 (coronavirus) pandemic.



Leave a Reply